Crummb

When a food critic turns the poison pen on herself

Re-introducing… Crummb! August 17, 2010

Filed under: Inane stuff — crummb @ 12:36 am

SINGAPORE (August 17): In a formidable show of people power, Crummb is elected as the official name of TPL’s bakery.

Crummb, the name of the former journalist’s baking blog of three years, steamrolled its arch-rival Crumb with a huge margin by grabbing 35 votes. The latter name, leaner but not meaner, managed to capture a paltry 2 nods.

In a motherhood statement released to the press, Crummb said it is honoured to be the name of this finest of new cake establisments.

“I would like to thank all 35 people who made their mandate clear by voting for me.  I will work my best, so as to achieve happiness, prosperity and progress for TPL,” it said.

To cement its appointment, TPL has created a business page on Facebook under “Crummb”. All readers of her blog are cordially invited to the page and click Like to bloat her already obese ego.

“But it is also for me to know the names and faces of my readers, what,” she defends, downplaying her pathological need for praise and affirmation. She adds that whoever Likes her page will henceforth be christened “Crummbot” for his/her unwavering support and obedience.

As for the also-ran Crumb, it was recently spotted endorsing some two-bit musician on Facebook, as well as countless other unimaginative bakeries whose names are so similar you don’t know which is which.

“See? It pays to be different,” said Crummb, adding that TPL’s readers are as wise as they have good taste.

“So quick go to the Facebook page now and make yourselves known. Crummbots of the world unite!”

 

11 Responses to “Re-introducing… Crummb!”

  1. vivian Says:

    congrats to Crummb!

  2. Crummbot #90 Says:

    Woohoo! Congrats on the new FB page!

  3. faithy Says:

    CONGRATS!!! 😀 All your latest wedding cakes are awesome! Lovely designs!

  4. bombakla Says:

    When I grow up, I want to write like you!

    • crummb Says:

      but darhling you’re already the better writer! (remember we will always be life-time members of the mutual kiss-ass society)

  5. Jane Lim Says:

    Hi Pau Lin,
    Congratulations for finally taking the leap to your cake making business! I’m so happy for you. You have the talent for this, and I’m sure you’ll live up to being Singapore’s best wedding cake maker! All the best! I’ll be one of your fan!

    • crummb Says:

      Thank you Jane! You were in the same class as me when I first took this step. So nice to have your support. But I still have so much to learn. Will have to kachow you once in a while for tips ok? 🙂

  6. Jane Lim Says:

    Hi Pau Lin,
    You’re just too humble. Any creation from you beats anyone I know hands down! :p I’ve not even made any wedding cake after my “graduation”! 😛 It should be the other way round! I will need you advice instead. 🙂


Leave a comment