Crummb

When a food critic turns the poison pen on herself

Kids Cakes October 13, 2010

Filed under: Birthday cakes — crummb @ 2:05 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

If you ever want to make me nervous, just ask me to make a kid’s birthday cake. But if you want me to really tremble in my housewife’s slippers, tell me it is for a boy.

You see, I don’t have a son. I have no idea what makes them tick (or tear down the house). I think Thomas & Friends is the nuttiest TV show on earth. I mean, talking trains? What’s so fun about that? Or dinosaurs? Or cars? Or anything that moves fast and puffs smoke? They’re noisy and they smell.

So thankfully, when M asked me to make a cake for her son Ollie’s 3rd birthday, she had only one criterion. Ollie loves gummies and so she wanted them on a cake. Okay, this I can do. I’ll put them on bamboo skewers and stick them into a little balloon cart, my tribute to the animation movie Up (if you haven’t seen it, the 4-minute montage of a lifelong marriage is worth an Oscar by itself).

But man, it was hard work. It took hours to cut, texture and stick together the cart. The little helium canister threatened to drop off, the cart started falling apart, the wheels couldn’t support the weight, the gummy sticks kept tilting downwards. By the time M came to pick up the cake, I looked like I’d just walked through a car wash.

Cakes for little girls, on the other hand, are a complete breeze. You just make cute little strawberries, cut out little flowers and leaves, stick them on the cake and that is it. After S came to pick up this 3-tier cake for her daughter Jayna, I could actually go out to attend a wedding like a normal person and even emitted no foul odours.

I know I’m probably scaring off all my friends who have sons. But don’t worry (especially Clara, Yee Hwa, Jo and Hun Ching!), I will always make your boys’ birthday cakes if you want.

There are always sedatives (for me, not your sons).

 

14 Responses to “Kids Cakes”

  1. zann Says:

    those strawberries are KILLING me. so is that little helium tank. do you make doggie birthday cakes too?

  2. ms Says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE!
    (and i loved that four-min Up segment too!)

  3. Eileen Says:

    Darling Cousin!

    Amazing!!! Your gorgeous cakes make me smile!! Love to you and your family!!

    Eileen

  4. faithy Says:

    both cakes are so adorable! and i esp. love the blue and strawberries one..well, i like girly stuff too..:D

  5. yzzzz Says:

    Both the cakes are so pretty!
    I love the idea of an UP-themed cake!!! Now I feel like watching it again…

  6. Corrie Says:

    so pretty!!!! aahhh

  7. Alethea Says:

    Hi Pau Lin, I am Alethea, a freelance face painter and glitter tattoo artist for events. (Not trying to intrude/spam your blog) but you do have very beautiful cakes, and I just thought it might be relevant to drop you my contact since you probably deal with people who want great parties. If you know of contacts who need to spice up their princess parties of like halloween and xmas parties. Do let me know. 🙂

    you can view some of my glitter tattoos and me working with the kids here at http://de-trompeloeil.blogspot.com/

    Thanks. Cu next week for dinner okie?

  8. Amy Says:

    awww….love the strawberries, so cute!

  9. Sandra Says:

    This cake looks great! Nice work.

  10. What a wonderful blog on kids cakes.Thanks

  11. Yasmin Says:

    Fantastic, Amazing. I ike it so much. Congratulation.


Leave a comment