Crummb

When a food critic turns the poison pen on herself

Mocking a mock-cake October 15, 2008

Filed under: Wedding cakes — crummb @ 3:39 pm
Tags: ,

DEAR fans (and enemies), I am still alive! I haven’t been posting for a while because I’ve been busy preparing for two wedding cakes which I gotta deliver next weekend – for J&H on Saturday and C&A for Sunday.

And above is evidence that I’ve been a busy bee. I made this mock-up cake to iron out any potential kinks so no misfortune would befall me on the actual day. And boy am I glad I tested out Jess’ cake design in advance. At 4 inches, her middle tier (pictured) is almost twice as tall as the other two tiers, and quite a beearch to cover with fondant.

(Non-bakers who couldn’t care less about the intricacies of cake decoration, skip this paragraph) The cake was so tall that the fondant couldn’t wrap over the sides neatly. Instead, it formed gathers like “waves” at two sections of the cake. Good grief, what am I to do! It may be technically impossible to fondant-wrap a 4-inch cake – imagine throwing a hankie over a water bottle – no way the sides are gonna adhere neatly. Or maybe my fondant recipe – a non-melt one I got from my aunt – was a little too stiff? Think I gotta tweak it this weekend and try again. If it doesn’t work, I’d have to change the design to have three 3-inch tiers. Watoodoo.

Other than that, all else is well! Jess likes the dots (except that I gotta find another brighter shade of purple, and replace the orange with shocking pink). More pictures – and tribulation tales – to come next week.

 

8 Responses to “Mocking a mock-cake”

  1. zann Says:

    i’m impressed by how perfectly aligned all the dots are! it’s as if you used a ruler. wait…did you use a ruler?

  2. crummb Says:

    i did not! they’re all stuck on by free hand. say it – i’m a baking prodigy!

  3. Melandroweb Says:

    All those dots make it a spaceship, original.

  4. chris Says:

    trim off the extra gathered bits and seal the seam with a hot knife, perhaps?
    or, for a neater solution, wrap the sides with a rectangular strip of fondant, then place a circle of fondant on top, and smooth the seam with a hot knife? you probably wouldn’t get a nice beveled edge though, unless you rolled the circle’s edges thinner and were very tidy about the smoothing.
    alternatively, ask your friend what’s her problem, why must have such a tall middle tier, so aspirational for what? ;-p

  5. sooch Says:

    Hey, nice design! Very retro! Hmm, not sure if this will help, but I notice that I have more problems smoothening out gathers when I roll fondant thinner cos it gets harder to ‘retract back’. So, it might work to have it a bit thicker, then make sure it falls evenly around the sides of the cake so that all gathers are somewhat even but not yet pressed inwards, and then you start smoothening downwards from the top moving your hands around the circumference evenly. It might be possible to re-shape the fondant sufficiently.
    I noticed you baked the cake for the trial run. If you can get a foam block from art shops, you can try the different ideas suggested without totally messing up a cake in the process. Hope this helps!

  6. […] Two weeks ago, after my attempt using my own home-made fondant failed miserably (as detailed here), I spent a few days panicking. I won’t be able to give Jess what she wants for her wedding […]

  7. […] Two weeks ago, after my attempt using my own home-made fondant failed miserably (as detailed here), I spent a few days panicking. I won’t be able to give Jess what she wants for her wedding […]

  8. […] Two weeks ago, after my attempt using my own home-made fondant failed miserably (as detailed here), I spent a few days panicking. I won’t be able to give Jess what she wants for her wedding […]


Leave a Reply

