Crummb

When a food critic turns the poison pen on herself

Chocolatey Awful May 18, 2008

Filed under: Wedding cakes — crummb @ 11:30 pm
Tags: , , ,

ONLY a beginner like me would have the courage (or is it the lunacy?) to make a chocolate ganache cake for an outdoor wedding.

All the pastry chefs I asked said the chocolate would melt into a cataclysmic mess. But I thought there’s nothing a little gelatin can’t fix. In fact, when L the bride said she wanted vertical stripes on the cake, I thought quite naively, why not.

The result was a hair-raising experience that saw me muttering desperate prayers all through the time I assembled this cake on-site.

The wedding party was held at a casual beach bar, and guests were already trickling in by the time I set up my gear to put together the cake.

The ganache was still chilled when I stacked the cakes together, so no problems there. But it started thawing – real fast – as I stuck on the pastillage stripes. There were more than 100 of them, to be attached perfectly straight, in the right order, with the same gap width. And there were people watching. Talk about performance anxiety.

And therefore you see now these uneven stripes and a particular one that is driving me crazy – the light blue one on the bottom-most tier. Somebody teach me Photoshop.

 

3 Responses to “Chocolatey Awful”

  1. rattoo Says:

    ohhh yes, i see THAT light-blue stripe at the bottom. (i really don’t want to be your grille man, man.)
    no, seriously, i DO see it. it’s the ninth stripe from the left beginning with the deep pink, or the second light-blue stripe from the left beginning with the deep pink. the lower portion needs to shift 2.7mm to the right.

  2. crummb Says:

    Oh… shuuddup! :p

  3. wordsmith Says:

    so complicated. if only there is fondant, manufactured wrapping paper style. All we need to do is to roll it around! (as u can see, i’m not a wedding cake maker!)


Leave a Reply

